fbpx

Imagine Nicholasville Road Planning Commission Public Hearing

Imagine Nicholasville Road represents a transformative transit and development plan that was adopted into the 2018 Comprehensive Plan, Imagine Lexington after unanimous approval by the Planning Commission on May 20, 2021.

It is the first analysis of a major corridor as recommended by the 2018 Comp Plan, and includes an action plan to guide utilization of existing land for innovative infill and redevelopment, increase safety, walkability, and connectivity of diverse transit modes and future development, and encourage increased economic development. The plan includes updates that increase quality of life, transportation equity, access, housing options, safety and lay the foundation for community success and smart, sustainable growth in Lexington.

The plan includes:

  • Intersection improvements
  • Plans for Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) and Complete Streets
  • Guidelines for future redevelopment of large parking lots and underutilized shopping centers
  • Dedicated bike and pedestrian facilities and more

Fayette Alliance submitted a position statement for the public record in support of Imagine Nicholasville Road prior to the May public hearing.

Read Position Statement

View Imagine Nicholasville Road

Contact Council!

We need you to let your Councilmember know you support Imagine Nicholasville Road and its implementation! Here’s a draft email to get you started:

“Hello __________,

I’m [YOUR NAME] from District [YOUR DISTRICT NUMBER]. I’m writing to you in support of the Imagine Nicholasville Road plan. This vision to improve safety and efficiency for all types of transportation on one of our major corridors will be transformative for our community. Providing more transportation options and a variety of housing types, especially in underutilized areas like shopping centers, is key to helping us achieve sustainable and equitable growth.

I support the plan because [WHY YOU SUPPORT/HOW IT WILL IMPACT YOUR LIFE]. I encourage you to support the plan when you are given the opportunity.

Sincerely,

[YOUR NAME]”


Councilmembers and email addresses:

Vice Mayor Steve Kay – skay@lexingtonky.gov
Council-At-Large, Richard Maloney- rmoloney@lexingtonky.gov
Council-At-Large, Chuck Ellinger, II- cellinger@lexingtonky.gov
District 1 Councilmember James Brown – jbrown2@lexingtonky.gov
District 2 Councilmember Josh McCurn – jmccurn@lexingtonky.gov
District 3 Councilmember Hannah LeGris – hlegris@lexingtonky.gov
District 4 Councilmember Susan Lamb – susanl@lexingtonky.gov
District 5 Councilmember Liz Sheehan – lsheehan@lexingtonky.gov
District 6 Councilmember David Kloiber – dkloiber@lexingtonky.gov
District 7 Councilmember Preston Worley – pworley@lexingtonky.gov
District 8 Councilmember Fred Brown – fbrown@lexingtonky.gov
District 9 Councilmember Whitney Baxter – wbaxter@lexingtonky.gov
District 10 Councilmember Amanda Mays Bledsoe – abledsoe@lexingtonky.gov
District 11 Councilmember Jennifer Reynolds – jreynolds@lexingtonky.gov
District 12 Councilmember Kathy Plomin – kplomin@lexingtonky.gov