

Board Members Helen Alexander Jim Bell Antony Beck Greg Goodman Margaret Graves John Kerr Lori Kirk Wagner Debbie Long John Nicholson Nick Nicholson Mike Owens Greg Padgett John Phillips Walt Robertson Don Robinson Mackenzie Royce Jim Shropshire David Switzer Emma Tibbs Robert Trujillo Tom Van Meter Jack van Nagell Holly Wiedemann

Executive Director Elizabeth Knox van Nagell

Randall Vaughn, Chairman LFUCG Planning Commission 101 East Vine Street Lexington, Kentucky 40507

November 29, 2007

Dear Chairman Vaughn,

I am writing to you as the Executive Director of the Fayette Alliance. The Fayette Alliance is a coalition of agricultural, neighborhood, and development interests whose aim is to promote urban and rural vitality in Lexington-Fayette County.

Developer Richardson-Todd LLC is requesting a zone change from A-U to EAR-2 for property located at 2020 Russell Cave Road (ZDP 2001-98:Russell Cave Glen). In addition, it submitted a preliminary development plan for approval on this project.

The Fayette Alliance supports staff's recommendation of approval re: the zone change, as the Comprehensive Plan calls for EAR-2 zoning on this site.

The Fayette Alliance 330 East Main Street, Ste. 300 Lexington, KY 40507

(859) 281-1202

However, the Fayette Alliance has serious concerns about the proposed development plan, in which substantial woodlands will be removed to construct 47 housing units on roughly 8 acres of land on Russell Cave Road.

Therefore, in the express interests of the 2006 Comprehensive Plan, the 1999 Rural Land Management Plan, and the 1996 Expansion Area Masterplan, the Fayette Alliance supports staff's recommendation of disapproval re: the development plan.

More time is needed to better address the area's extensive sanitary sewer and stormwater problems, the proposed density of the project, the environmental sensitivity of the site, and the proximity of prime agricultural lands to the development.

The Fayette Alliance looks forward to working with the developer in resolving these issues, and we appreciate the Commission's dedication to responsible land use planning.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Knox van Nagell Executive Director