

The Fayette Alliance

601 West Short Street, Ste. 200 Lexington, KY 40508 (859) 281-1202

Board Members Helen Alexander Antony Beck Jim Bell Greg Goodman Margaret Graves John Kerr Lori Kirk Wagner Debbie Long John Nicholson Nick Nicholson Mike Owens Greg Padgett John Phillips Walt Robertson Don Robinson

Mackenzie Rovce

Jim Shropshire

David Switzer

Emma Tibbs

Robert Trujillo

Tom Van Meter

Jack van Nagell

Holly Wiedemann

Executive Director Elizabeth Knox van Nagell

LFUCG Urban County Council 200 East Main Street Lexington, Kentucky 40507

April 23, 2008

Dear Council members,

On behalf of the Fayette Alliance Board of Directors, I would respectfully ask your support of the proposed \$2.4 million allocation to the LFUCG Purchase of Development Rights Program for fiscal year 2009.

By approving the \$2.4 million bonded LFUCG allocation, the program will receive matching funds of \$2.4 million from the Federal Farm and Ranchlands Protection Program-thereby **doubling** the local investment in the PDR program at a reasonable debt service of \$189,600 a year.

In today's lean budgetary climate, this scenario affords LFUCG an important opportunity to invest twice the money for half the price in farmland conservation- a win-win for the

community considering there are currently 64 farms in the PDR pipeline waiting to sell easements on 4,800 acres.

Simply stated, voting for the \$2.4 million LFUCG allocation will secure Lexington's long-term economic strength by permanently protecting the factory floor of our \$3 billion signature industries and renowned Bluegrass brand- making Fayette County attractive to agricultural investors and knowledge-based professionals alike.

The Fayette Alliance appreciates your support on this issue. Urban and rural vitality are essential components in making our community one of the premier cities in America, and the Fayette Alliance will continue to work with Council to make it a reality.

Please do not hesitate to call if the Alliance can ever be of assistance, and again thank you for your leadership.

All my best-

John W. Phillips Chairman