Election Day is Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Voter Registration Ends on October 11, 2016

The newly elected Council will take office the first day of business in January.

In order to educate the public on where our Council candidates stand on the most pressing growth issues facing Lexington-Fayette County, Fayette Alliance partnered with the Fayette County Neighborhood Council and Fayette County Farm Bureau to circulate a questionnaire to all candidates. While all twelve district seats are up for election, only three are contested: the second district; fourth district; and, twelfth district. All candidates were given an opportunity to complete the questionnaire. Find your council district here.

Why City Hall Elections Matter:

Local government officials address matters that directly affect our quality of life on a daily basis, such as planning and zoning.  Planning and zoning laws and policies are the building blocks of our community’s quality of life.  In Lexington-Fayette County, the Planning Commission debates and votes on whether to send proposed laws to the Council for adoption.  Planning Commission members are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council.

Your voice and involvement are important!  Get and stay informed about our leaders, and their positions on our work to sustainably grow our city and promote our farms.

Here are the candidates for the Urban County Government election:

Contested Districts:

District 2
Shevawn Akers (I)
Election Questionnaire

Sasha Love Higgins (C)
Election Questionnaire

District 4
Susan Lamb (I)
Election Questionnaire

Barry Saturday (C)*
*Withdrew from election
No Response

District 12
Russ Hensley (I)*
*Resigned council seat and withdrew from election
Election Questionnaire

Kathy Plomin (C)
Election Questionnaire

(I) = Incumbent     (C) = Challenger

Uncontested Districts:

District 1
James Brown
No Response

District 3
J. “Jake” Gibbs
Election Questionnaire

District 5
Bill Farmer Jr.
No Response

District 6
Angela Evans
No Response

District 7
Jennifer Scutchfield
No Response

District 8
Fred V. Brown
Election Questionnaire

District 9
Jennifer Mossotti
Election Questionnaire

District 10
Amanda Mays Bledsoe
No Response

District 11
Peggy Henson
No Response

No primaries in Urban County Council races; only 3 have opposition

by Beth Musgrave, 1.26.16, Kentucky.com

For the first time since 2010, there will be no May primaries for Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council seats.

All 12 incumbents filed to run for re-election by Tuesday’s 4 p.m. filing deadline. Nine will be unopposed in the Nov. 8 general election.

Only three races — in the the 2nd, 4th and 12th districts — will be contested in November. A primary would have been held if three or more people filed to run for a seat, but that didn’t happen in any of the districts. Lexington council races are nonpartisan.

In the 2nd District, incumbent Shevawn Akers, who is in her second term, will face political newcomer Sasha Love Higgins, a general manger of a local Hampton Inn. Higgins filed Monday…Read more at Kentucky.com


No upcoming events. Check back soon or join our mailing list and get notified of future events.

Bluegrass International Cup